Check it out: Desu Daily is looking for site volunteers! Check out our open positions and apply now!

Why You Should Be Watching: Quan Zhi Gao Shou

Hello, and welcome to another rendition of Why You Should Be Watching, where I tell you what anime you shouldn’t miss this season, since I watch too many anime and want to share them all with you. Today I’ll be talking about something a little different from usual with Quan Zhi Gao Shou, or The King’s Avatar, a show that actually isn’t an anime, but a genuine Chinese cartoon inspired by the anime artstyle!

Sound interesting? Of course it does, so go check down below the break to read more!

Read more

Anime Rewatch #6 Voting

This has been a long time coming! Death Parade has been wrapped up for a while, so I think it’s time for us to vote on the next rewatch!

Pop those anime suggestions in the comments, making sure you only put one per comment. If someone else wrote your suggestion, upvote their comment!

Let’s say whichever anime has the most upvotes by Wednesday, the 24th, will be what we watch next!

Our past rewatches were:
– Death Parade
– Gakkou Gurashi!
– Love, Chunibyo & Other Delusions!
– The [email protected]: Cinderella Girls
– Cowboy Bebop

Get in those comments and start voting!

Read more

New PV for “Action Heroine Cheer Fruits” Original TV Anime

A new promotional video for the original television anime, Action Heroine Cheer Fruits, has been released! The 1:30-long video goes over the 9 main heroines, showing off each of their designs and listing their voice actors.

In the order listed in the video, the characters and voice actors will include:

  • Misaki Shirogane voiced by M・A・O (Papika from Flip Flappers and Luluco from Space Patrol Luluco)
  • An Akagi voiced by Miku Itou (Narumi Inoue from Re-Kan! and Asami Hoshi from Anitore!)
  • Roko Kuroki voiced by Rie Murakawa (Naoe Kanno from Brave Witches and Hotaru Ichijou from Non Non Biyori)
  • Mikan Kise voiced by Erii Yamazaki (Shiro and Kuro Materia from Frame Arms Girl and Shi from Nyanko Days)
  • Mana Midorikawa voiced by Yuuki Hirose (Noriko Yamada from Alice to Zouroku and Tomoe Akizuki from Minami Kamakura Koukou Joshi Jitensha-bu)
  • Yuki Aoyama voiced by Haruka Ishida (Kanata Shinonome from AKB0048 and Bianchi from Nobunaga the Fool)
  • Genki Aoyama voiced by Haruka Ishida
  • Hatsuri Momoi voiced by Moe Toyota (Sapphire Kawashima from Hibike! Euphonium and Vivi Lin from Idol Memories)
  • and Kanon Shimura voiced by Haruka Shiraishi (Kyouko Naraku from Centaur no Nayami and Ruri Hibarigaoka from Anne Happy)

MyAnimeList describes the synopsis below:

“Support the city!” The setting takes place in a peaceful area for fruit production. Since the city is losing its vibrancy, the local girls became the city’s heroines! This is the story of the youth and their struggles in making the city’s excitement back again.

Action Heroine Cheer Fruits will begin airing on July 7.

You can find the video after the break!

Read more

Desu Daily Podcast Episode #1

We’ve been discussing it for a while, and it’s finally here! We’re pleased to announce the first episode of the official Desu Daily Podcast!

The Desu Daily Podcast will be a weekly podcast between us on the site and possibly some special guests! We talk about anime, manga, and generally anything related. Spend an hour with us and listen to the minds behind Desu Daily!

You can find the podcast posted here on the site, or on Desu Daily’s official YouTube channel. This first episode is going out to everyone, but in the future, our Patrons will have exclusive one-week access to it! So if you’re in the $5 tier or higher, you’ll get to listen to it before anyone else. Cool, right?

If you have any questions for us, be sure to ask them in the comments of this post or in the comments of the video! We’ll hit them up in a future Q&A session.

Check out our first episode after the break!

Read more

Press Release: VIZ Media Announces SPLATOON Manga Based On Hit Nintendo Video Game

Is that what I think it is? Why yes, I think it is! VIZ Media has announced a Splatoon manga, launching exclusively in print later this year! And just like the game, it’s for all ages. The manga follows four Inklings caught in a Splatoon Turf War, all inspired by the game.

You can check out the full press release below!

Read more

Seven Seas Licenses Classic 1972 Devilman Manga plus Sequel


Seven Seas announced today that they have acquired the licence to the original 1972 Devilman manga series, as well as the sequel Devilman vs Hades. The publisher plans to release a Devilman: Classic Collection in two large trim hardcover omnibus editions. Volume 1 will be released on March 6, 2018 for $27.99 USA / $31.99 CAN.


See more from the Seven Seas press release after the break.

Read more